Blogging When You’re Busy – 4 Tips to Keep Posting

Life has been pretty busy lately, so I haven’t had as much free time as I would like for blogging. Here are four things that help me at least keep my blog(s) updated. I’d love to hear your tips, too!

1. If you have a smart phone, use WordPress Apps to blog on the go.

I have the WordPress for Android app on my phone, and today I uploaded a quick post to my personal blog. I enjoy gardening and nature, so this was a front yard that caught my eye. While it’s certainly not a “meaty” life-changing blog post, it does indicate to my readers/subscribers that yes, I’m still around and out enjoying life. Which brings me to point two…

2. Keep it short and simple.

It’s all about choice. With your WordPress blog, you can publish long-form essays or just a sentence. And sometimes, a sentence may be all you’ve got time for! So, when things get hectic, try to think of those quick moments that are worth sharing. Perhaps your child shared a funny joke last night, or you watched a funny video clip online — while these may seem like minor events, they are what make life worth living, right? All it takes is a few minutes to share these snippets with your readers.

3. Use our re-blog feature.

Ever want to share another blogger’s post with your readers, but find it too tedious to mess with cutting/pasting or adding in the hyperlink back to the original post? Our new re-blog feature makes this a snap, reducing the time it takes to blog.

4. Do a photo-based post.

If you’ve got some great photos stored on your camera, share ’em and tell you readers a quick “photo story.” The way to do this quickly is to go to your Media Library, and hit “add new.” You can then upload a bunch of photos all at once. Next, add a new post, and bring in all the photos from your Media Library either as single images or in a gallery. Done!

This entry was posted in Blogging Tips and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blogging When You’re Busy – 4 Tips to Keep Posting

  1. ifeuma says:

    This is great advice… I also find myself too busy to post even on weekends but now I know that even a sentence is worthy of being called a post.

  2. Hello Joy,
    I responded to your email the other day. Did you have time to read it?
    Cheers,
    ian

Leave a Reply

