Freshly Pressed Focus: Ophthalmic Photography (via Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night)

Today I stumbled across a post while surfing our Photography tag page, written by a woman who is a professional ophthalmic photographer. Meaning, she takes photos of eyeballs. Now, that’s no ordinary job, so I immediately started hoping the post was Freshly Pressed worthy, and it was! Let’s discuss why:

First, she explains what her job is like, putting her readers in her shoes for a day. She even gives her readers a brief eyeball anatomy lesson. But instead of delving into really tedious explanations of her work, she cuts to the chase, and gets to the “meat” of the post: her incredible photos.

For each photo, she again tells us what we’re looking at. The weird black bolt of lightening? That’s a blocked blood vessel. The cloud-like glowing orbs? That’s inflammation after a car accident. Wow, who knew? And better yet: These are her photos, not someone else’s that appeared in a magazine somewhere, or on another web site. It’s original content, straight from the source. I love that.

But most of all, I love the “who knew?” factor I got when I read her post, and I wanted to share it with the world. And I now would like to ask all of you: What’s your job like? You might not take photos of eyeballs, but I bet you’ve got something unique and interesting to share, too.

Ophthalmic Photography I get a lot of questions about what exactly I do, and a lot of confused looks when I introduce myself as an ophthalmic photographer.  I work in a unique and interesting field photographing the insides of people’s eyes, specifically the retina. The retina lines the back wall of the eye and is responsible for our detailed vision.  My imaging of the retina provides the  doctors with crucial information that allows them to diagnose and treat retinal … Read More

via Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night

This entry was posted in Freshly Pressed and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Freshly Pressed Focus: Ophthalmic Photography (via Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night)

  1. beyondanomie says:

    It’s good to read the reasoning behind Freshly Pressed selections.

    I have to say, I was particularly pleased to read this choice because I basically grew up around those sorts of retinal photographs (dad was a retinal surgeon), and it’s nice to know that more people will now get to appreciate how cool they can be!

    It’s freat when people bring the insight from their professions into their blogging. Too many people think their profession is just something they do to bring in money, but really, it should be something they enjoy, that enriches them, and so should be that gives them skills/insights they can apply to life in general outside of work.

    Drawing on that skill-set is something I tend to try to do in mine on many of my blog posts too. I chose to focus on the brain rather than eyes, and became a psychiatrist… but I still like to think I get to take a look inside people’s heads, albeit not as directly as “Eyeballs by Day” does! 😉

  2. Pingback: A HUGE Thank You to Wordpress and all my Fellow Bloggers! « Eyeballs By Day, Crafts By Night

Leave a Reply

